My brother is asexual

I don’t think I have ever talked about it but in the past, my brother has expressed himself to me that they think they are asexual. Today, he told me that he has been experimenting with my nail polish and has been trying different things, including water marbling (which is SOO hard). 

My brother is 13 and in seventh grade. It is interesting to see the similarities and disparities between both of us. At 12, I knew that I had an attraction to other genders but I would never admit it to myself. I think that my brother is so brave and so insightful for already being able to recognize what the feelings that they are feeling might be. It is interesting to see him go against gender roles and do what he wants because he wants to do it. I never had the courage to do that myself.
Though, he did remove the nail polish right after it dried in fear that my parents would find out. My parents are very conservative and very traditional as a Mexican family in their way of thinking.
My brother is so smart and so cool. I wish that I would have had the guts to do the things that he is doing. I still wish I had the guts even now to do the things he is doing.
4 thoughts on “My brother is asexual

  1. Thank you SO MUCH for supporting your brother in this. Young asexuals face so much discrimination and invalidation, especially from family members. It’s wonderful and so heartwarming to know he has someone like you in his life with whom he can be safe to be himself and experiment. Thank you.

    1. Aw thank you that is so sweet of you to say. I’m glad that he has someone too, I wish I had someone that validated my feelings when I was growing up.

Leave a Reply

